Physics Machine Shops

Aerial photo of the Machine ShopPhysical Science South - Building Photo

Physics Machine Shops


On-campus rate: $125.75/hour

 Off-campus rate: $200.00/hour



The Department has taken the following proactive steps in the Physics Machine Shop  to promote social distancing and protect the health of all members of our physics community:

  • The Student Shop is partially open to authorized grad students and staff for access under a covid safety plan.  Contact David Patterson for more information.

  • The Professional Machine Shop will continue to provide service to the campus utilizing telephone/email/teleconferencing communication.  In-person access to the professional shop and staff will be restricted.

  • Jobs for the professional shop will be accepted by email or phone, and drawings and model files will be accepted by email or hard copy left in a new drop-off area outside the main shop entrance. 

  • Instructions for communicating with the professional shop are HERE and are posted at the shop entrance


The UCSB Physics Machine Shop is located in the Physical Sciences Building South (PSB-S), 1719-A, and is open from 7:00am - noon, and 1:00pm - 4:00pm, Monday through Friday.

A shop tour for students is available. Please contact us for more details.

Machine Shop Rates (users must have/request a Physics Department Recharge Account to access this service)


  • Approved on-campus rate:     $125.75/hour
  • Approved off-campus rate:   $200.00/hour
  • Machine-use rate:                  $13.52/hour
    Machine-use rate covers maintenance and disposable items and applies to previously trained staff who have shown sufficient knowledge of tools and machinery

Work order form for campus projects

(required for all projects)

The UCSB Physics Graduate Student Shop is located in the Physical Sciences Building South (PSB-S), Room 1707, and is open from 11:00am to 9:00pm, Monday through Friday.

Physics Machine Shop Staff

Bobby Brown

Machine Shop Manager


Guy Patterson

Student Shop Manager


Doug Rehn



Andy Segale